The Council of Class Presidents

The Council of Class Presidents (COCP) provides class presidents with a forum to discuss issues and initiatives of common interest to the classes and develop recommendations for proposed action. Additionally, COCP facilitates dialogue between the class presidents and U.S. Naval Academy and U.S. Naval Academy Alumni Association & Foundation (USNA AA&F) officials. 

COCP is independent of but closely associated with the USNA AA&F; it has its own charter, which conforms to the bylaws of the Alumni Association. COCP meets twice annually in support of the scheduled meetings of the Board of Trustees, or as required.

COCP also offers an equitable way to select class presidents for service as class trustees on the Board of Trustees of the Alumni Association. With a few exceptions, each decade (e.g., the classes from 1950 to 1959) elects one of its class presidents as the decade representative to conduct business within the decade. Seven members of the Board of Trustees are from the ranks of class presidents:

- 40's and 50's Decade: Lt Col Gordon M. Gerson, USAF (Ret.) ’58 through Spring 2025

- 60's Decade: Mr. Stephen W. Comiskey ’69 through Spring 2023

- 70's Decade: CAPT Kevin F. Stone, USNR (Ret.) ’76 through Spring 2023

- 80's Decade: Mr. James S. Schwab ’88 through Spring 2025

- 90's Decade: Mr. Thomas O. Wagner II '97  through Spring 2025

- 00's Decade: Mr. Donald H. Horner III ’08 through Spring 2023

- 10's and 20's Decade: Capt. Ian Cameron, USMC '12' through Spring 2026

The most effective way to contact class trustee is through your class president. Class trustees advise class presidents of any questions or issues raised by a member of another class. Significant issues for review and subsequent vote at COCP meetings are submitted through the decade of the individual who submits an issue paper. Review Issue Paper Process under "ABOUT COCP".

About COCP

Council Officers:

Chair - Mr. Stephen W. Comiskey ’69 through Spring of 2023

Vice Chair - Mr. James S. Schwab ’88 through Spring of 2022

Secretary - CAPT David M. Jackson, USN (Ret.) ’79 through Spring of 2023


Class President Handbook

Issue Paper Process