Why Give?


The USNA Foundation (A&SP) sponsors an extensive awards program, which provides well-deserved recognition for Varsity, Club and Intramural athletic teams and athletes as well as three Varsity coaches per year, for the Fall, Winter and Spring sets. Some awards also recognize excellence in academics and leadership within the Brigade.

The original awards were the ADM Louis E. Denfeld Memorial award, named in memory of the first Chairman of the Foundation in the 1940’s, and also the H. McCoy Jones award named after the man who helped organize and establish this Foundation in 1944. These two awards can only be presented to a Midshipman who was originally sponsored in the Foundation’s prep program.

Additional Awards Presented Each Year to Midshipmen:
- The E.E. “Rip” Miller Award
- The Roger Staubach Trophy
- The Joe Bellino Trophy
- The David Robinson Trophy
- The Napoleon McCallum Trophy
- The Cheryl Dolyniuk Carlan Trophy
- The Max Bishop/Joe Duffy Baseball Trophy
- The LCDR Erik Kristensen Memorial Crew Trophy
- The 1stLT Travis L. Manion Memorial Wrestling Trophy
- The Boxing "Champions Trophy"
- The Dave Smalley Award
- The Peggy Feldmann Award
- The Carol Womack Holland Award

Note: These 15 awards can be presented to any deserving Midshipmen, whether they were sponsored in the prep program or not.

The Foundation Awards committee meets twice a year to review award nominations from the NAAA and Commandant’s staff, before making final decisions on the winners.  The individual awards are either Pewter Bowls or smaller “take-away” trophies.  The three Varsity coaches’ awards are a cash check and also a desktop trophy.  Most are presented at the annual Trustee Spring dinner banquet.