USNA Alumni Association Board of Trustees Spring Meeting May 2, 2014 Summary

The Board of Trustees met for its regular meeting in the N* Room at the Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium beginning at 0800 on May 2, 2014. ADM Robert J. Natter, '67 USN (Ret.), Chair of the Board of Trustees, acted as chair of the meeting and Commander Lawrence Heyworth, III, '70, USN (Ret.) acted as secretary of the meeting.

The Chair welcomed all and determined that a quorum was present. Trustee Daniel Archer '80 was excused in advance from the Board meeting by ADM Natter. LCDR Josh Welle' 02 was not present.

The following resolutions were adopted by a unanimous vote of the Board of Trustees:

- Authorization to Meet in Executive Session for Campaign Update
- December 12, 2013 minutes
- Election of Alumni Association officers
- Consolidated Operating Budget
- Revisions to Investment Policy Statement
- FY 15-16 budget
- Progress of Alumni Mentoring Program
- Continued Management of Co-Location Initiative

The following resolution was approved by majority vote (27 yes; 1 no): Residency Requirement for Regional Trustees.

In his remarks, the Chair provided an overview of what was discussed by the Executive Committee on May 1. He also advised that the Executive Committee had unanimously approved the Authorization to Transact Business Resolution.

The Superintendent provided the Board an update on the Naval Academy and noted that he would be leaving sometime this summer. ADM Natter thanked ADM Miller for his leadership and a job well done especially with the Cyber Center.

During lunch the Class of 1969 president, Steve Comiskey and Bill Natter, Class of 1964 president, presented the Class of 2014 president, Midshipman William Roberts, USN, a gavel and sounding board manufactured from wood obtained from the USS CONSTITUTION.

After all Committee Reports were presented, the Chair introduced each Trustee who was departing from the Board and thanked them for their service.

Jack Klimp '68 Alex Plechash '75 Jerome Smith '61 Josh Welle '02 Gerry Farrell '70 Richard Pace '63 Ples Bruce '77 After the farewell to departing Board Members, the meeting adjourned.

The new Board of Trustees (reconstituted to include newly appointed members: Leo Williams '70, Spence Johnson' 63, Murph McCarthy '00, Garry Hall '76, Justin Jarski '95, Ray Witter '64, and Brett Potts '95) convened in the N* Room at the Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium. Admiral Robert J. Natter '67, USN (Ret.), Chair of the Board of Trustees, acted as chair of the meeting and Commander Lawrence Heyworth, III, '70, USN (Ret.) acted as secretary of the meeting. Spencer Johnson '63 was excused in advance from the Board Meeting by ADM Natter.

A quorum was present.

The Chair announced the next meeting date: 10-11 December 2014

The Chair then opened the floor for those in attendance.

The meeting adjourned at 1430.

Art Bryant '66 led the Board and those present in singing 2 verses of Navy Blue and Gold.

Lawrence Heyworth III Secretary